Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: FLA @ PIT - 13:36 of the Second Period

Original call stands - good goal Pittsburgh Penguins @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: FLA vs. PIT

Situation Room: Hornqvist's goal stands after review

Patric Hornqvist scores midway through the 2nd, but the Panthers challenge the play for goaltender interference, after review, the call stands

  • 03:12 •

At 13:36 of the second period in the Panthers/Penguins game, Florida requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Pittsburgh's Patric Hornqvist interfered with Florida goaltender James Reimer prior to his goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line.

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Pittsburgh Penguins.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Florida Panthers forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.