Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: FLA @ ANA - 17:01 of the Third Period

Original call stands - good goal Florida @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: ANA vs. FLA - P3

Situation Room: Yandle's goal confirmed after review

The Ducks challenge Keith Yandle's goal for goaltender interference, but after review confirms no interference and the goal stands

  • 00:49 •

At 17:01 of the third period in the Panthers/Ducks game, Anaheim requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Florida player interfered with Anaheim goaltender John Gibson prior to Keith Yandle's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of Anaheim's Corey Perry caused Florida's Jonathan Huberdeau to contact Gibson before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal should be allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Florida Panthers.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Anaheim Ducks forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.