Skip to main content

Finalists for 2009 NHL Awards to be announced beginning Wednesday @NHLdotcom
NEW YORK/TORONTO -- The lists of the three finalists for each of the NHL's most prestigious regular-season awards will be announced beginning Wednesday. The 2009 NHL Awards, to be broadcast live from the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel Las Vegas on June 18, 2009 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada, will bring together the League's best players, celebrities and other NHL VIPs in celebration of the season's brightest stars.

A complete schedule of the daily announcements will be available tomorrow.

Finalists will be announced for the Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie), Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward), Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP), James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman), Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship), Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey), Vezina Trophy (top goaltender) and Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year).

Presentation of other awards at the 2009 NHL Awards will include: King Clancy Memorial Trophy (leadership and humanitarian contribution to his community), NHL Foundation Player Award (contributions to charitable causes), Scotiabank/NHL Fan Fav Award (fan-voted for best overall regular-season performance) and the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, presented by Bridgestone.

Top regular-season award winners also will be honored at the event. Penguins' center Evgeni Malkin will receive the Art Ross Trophy (scoring champion), the Maurice Richard Trophy (top goal scorer) will be presented to Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals and the Boston Bruins' tandem of Tim Thomas and Manny Fernandez will accept the William Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders for the club finishing the season having surrendered the fewest goals.

The Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) cast ballots for the Hart, Norris, Selke, Lady Byng, Calder and Masterton Trophies. The 30 NHL General Managers voted on the Vezina Trophy. The NHL Broadcasters' Association (NHLBA) submitted votes for the Jack Adams Award.

Voting for these awards was conducted at the conclusion of the regular season. Balloting results were tabulated by the accounting firm Ernst & Young.

Tickets to the 2009 NHL Awards are on sale now at and at the Pearl Concert Theater Box Office.
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.