Skip to main content

Fans elect Girgensons and five Blackhawks the first six all-stars for 2015 Honda NHL All-Star Game

by NHL Public Relations /

Chicago Blackhawks teammates Patrick Kane, Jonathan Toews, Duncan Keith, Corey Crawford and Brent Seabrook, and Buffalo Sabres center Zemgus Girgensons are the first six players to earn spots in the 2015 Honda NHL All-Star Game in Columbus, courtesy of fan votes in the 2015 NHL All-Star Fan Vote presented by SiriusXM. Girgensons closed out the six-week campaign as the top overall vote-getter with 1,574,896 votes.

Forwards Kane and Toews collected 1,232,201 and 1,217,210 votes, respectively, to earn the second and third spots overall. Keith was fourth overall and tops among defensemen with 1,198,173 votes. Seabrook tallied 1,016,992 for the second defenseman spot and sixth overall. Crawford topped all goaltenders and ranked fifth overall with 1,099,504 votes.

The remaining All-Star roster will be determined by the National Hockey League and announced on Saturday, Jan. 10.

Fans cast more than 35 million votes in the 2015 NHL All-Star Fan Vote presented by SiriusXM, up 52 percent from the 2012 NHL All-Star fan campaign. Nearly 27 percent of those votes were garnered by fans outside of North America, up seven thousand percent from 2012.

From Nov. 20 through Jan. 1, fans around the world cast their vote via interactive online ballots at in English, French, German, Czech, Finnish, Russian, Slovak and Swedish, and in select languages via the official NHL app for mobile phones.

The Columbus Blue Jackets and city of Columbus will host the 2015 NHL All-Star festivities, Jan. 24-25, marking a first for the city and Club. The League’s midseason showcase will include the Honda NHL All-Star Skills Competition on Saturday, Jan. 24 (7 p.m. ET, NBCSN, CBC, TVA Sports) and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 25 (5 p.m. ET, NBCSN, CBC, TVA Sports)

Fans can join the conversation on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram by using the official hashtag #NHLAllStar.

View More