Skip to main content


Evgeny Artyukhin scores shootout winner as Lightning beat Senators 3-2 @NHL

TAMPA, Fla. - Evgeny Artyukhin scored in the eighth round of a shootout to lead the Tampa Bay Lightning past the Ottawa Senators 3-2 on Saturday night.

Vincent Lecavalier and Matt Carle scored in regulation for the Lightning, who have won three in a row. Tampa Bay won the shootout 3-2.

Antoine Vermette and Dany Heatley had the Ottawa goals.

Carle pulled the Lightning even at two when he broke a personal 40 game goal-scoring drought with 6:12 left in the third. It was his first goal since Dec. 29 against Nashville.

Vermette put the Senators ahead 1-0 on a power-play rebound goal at 8:06 of the second. His first goal in nine games came after Tampa Bay goalie Mike Smith stopped a shot from the blue-line by Christoph Schubert.

Lecavalier tied it 1-1 from the top of the right circle at 14:09 of the second. The Lightning captain has three goals and five points in his last three games.

Just 39 seconds after Lecavalier's goal, Ottawa went back up 2-1 when Heatley scored from the low slot. He has a goal in three straight games.

Tampa Bay failed to score during a one minute, 46 second two-man advantage early in the third. Ottawa goalie Alex Auld turned aside the two shots he faced over the stretch.

Notes: Senators D Filip Kuba picked up his 12th assist - coming in 11 games - this season on Heatley's goal. ... Tampa Bay C Ryan Craig played for the first time since hurting his knee in Nov. 2008. He started this season sidelined by a groin injury. ... Ottawa D Chris Phillips, bothered by a sore foot, was in the lineup.

View More