Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: EDM @ WSH - 6:16 of the Second Period

Call overturned, no goal Edmonton

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: EDM vs. WSH

Situation Room: Klefbom's goal overturned in 2nd

The Capitals challenge for goaltender interference from Ryan Nugent-Hopkins on Oscar Klefbom's goal, and after review, the call is overturned

  • 01:59 •

At 6:16 of the second period in the Oilers/Capitals game, Washington requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Ryan Nugent-Hopkins interfered with Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby prior to Oscar Klefbom's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Nugent-Hopkins interfered with Holtby before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Edmonton Oilers.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Washington Capitals retain their time-out.

---

Rule 78.7: Coach's Challenge
A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios:

1. "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-side" infraction by the attacking team.

New for 2017-18: If the result of the challenge is that the play was "On-side", the goal shall count and the team that issued the challenge shall be assessed a minor penalty for delaying the game.

2. Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper"
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or

A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play.

Updated for 2017-18: A team may only request a Coach's Challenge for Interference on the Goalkeeper if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

View More