Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: EDM @ COL - 7:30 of the Third Period

Good goal Colorado @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: EDM vs. COL

Situation Room: Kerfoot awarded goal after reviews

Video review confirms the no-goal call on Alexander Kerfoot, and as the Avalanche challenge, the call on the ice is overturned for a good goal

  • 03:27 •

At 7:30 of the third period in the Oilers/Avalanche game, Colorado requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referees, the Situation Room determined that Colorado's Alexander Kerfoot was making a play on a loose puck and the puck entered the net in a legal fashion. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.7 which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because "in a rebound situation, or where a goalkeeper and attacking player(s) are simultaneously attempting to play a loose puck, whether inside or outside the crease, incidental contact will be permitted, and any goal that is scored as a result thereof will be allowed."

Therefore the original call is overturned - good goal Colorado Avalanche.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Colorado Avalanche retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.