Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: EDM @ ARI - 11:08 of the Third Period

Original call is overturned - no goal Edmonton Oilers

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: EDM vs. ARI

Situation Room: Edmonton goal overturned

After video review it is determined that there was goalie interference on the play, overturning the call on the ice of a good goal in the 3rd

  • 03:11 •

At 11:08 of the third period in the Oilers/Coyotes game, Arizona requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Edmonton's Patrick Maroon interfered with Arizona goaltender Antti Raanta prior to his goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Maroon interfered with Raanta before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Edmonton Oilers.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Arizona Coyotes retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.