Skip to Main Content

Eden Prairie's Snuggerud, Spinner up for Mr. Hockey

by Mike G. Morreale

The top 10 candidates for the 2014 Mr. Hockey Award for the state of Minnesota have been announced.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League scouts, NCAA Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state.

The nominees include five players ranked on NHL Central Scouting's midterm list of the top North American skaters for the 2014 NHL Draft.

The 10 finalists are forwards Tyler Cline (Blaine), Spencer Naas (Benilde-St. Margaret's), Avery Peterson (Grand Rapids), Mitch Slattery (Hill-Murray), Steven Spinner (Eden Prairie) and Zach Yon (Roseau), and defensemen Phil Beaulieu (Duluth East), Tyler Nanne (Edina), Luc Snuggerud (Eden Prairie) and Nick Wolff (Eagan).

Nanne, Slattery, Spinner, Snuggerud and Wolff are on Central Scouting's midterm list.

Snuggerud, a 6-foot-0.25, 180-pound left-shot defenseman, is the highest-rated player on Central Scouting's list at No. 61. He has 17 goals and a team-best 39 points in 25 regular-season games and one goal and seven points in two playoff games. Spinner (5-11.5, 196), who is Snuggerud's teammate in Eden Prairie, is ranked No. 70 on the midterm list. The right wing is second in scoring behind Snuggerud with 38 points (eight goals) in 25 regular-season games, and two goals and six points in two postseason games.

"It's great going against him every day at practice," Snuggerud told "We just push each other to get better and that competitiveness is always there. It's really great."

Slattery, a 5-11.5, 185-pound left wing, is No. 67; Wolff (6-3.5, 200) is No. 97, and Nanne (5-10, 174), the grandson of former Minnesota North Stars general manager Lou Nanne, is No. 168.

Mac Berglove of Elk River and Hunter Shepard of Grand Rapids are finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award as the state's top senior goalie.

The 30th annual Mr. Hockey Awards banquet will be held March 9 at the St. Paul RiverCentre, the day after the conclusion of the Class 2A and 1A state tournaments at Xcel Energy Center.

Grant Besse, a 2013 fifth-round pick (No. 147) of the Anaheim Ducks, was the 2013 winner. Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners include Tom Chorske (1985), Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Paul Martin (2000), New York Rangers defenseman Ryan McDonagh (2007), Chicago Blackhawks defenseman Nick Leddy (2009) and Florida Panthers center Nick Bjugstad (2010).


View More