Skip to main content


Drouin headlines Team QMJHL Super Series squad

by Adam Kimelman /

Five players taken in the first round of the 2013 NHL Draft highlight the team the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League will field for its two games against Team Russia in the 2013 Subway Super Series.

Games will be played Nov. 18 in Gatineau, Quebec, and Nov. 20 in Sherbrooke, Quebec. The games serve as another step in the evaluation process used by Canada to pick its team for the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship.

Super Series schedule

Game 1 – Mon. Nov. 18 at Gatineau, Quebec
Game 2 – Wed. Nov. 20 at Sherbrooke, Quebec
Game 3 – Thurs. Nov. 21 at Oshawa, Ontario
Game 4 – Mon. Nov. 25 at Sudbury, Ontario
Game 5 – Wed. Nov. 27 at Red Deer, Alberta
Game 6 – Thurs. Nov. 28 at Lethbridge, Alberta

Among those taking part is Halifax Mooseheads forward Jonathan Drouin, the third pick of the draft, who has 15 points in nine games. Also playing are Rimouski Oceanic defenseman Samuel Morin (No. 11, Philadelphia Flyers) and forwards Anthony Mantha (No. 20, Detroit Red Wings) of the Val-d'Or Foreurs, Rimouski's Frederik Gauthier (No. 21, Toronto Maple Leafs) and Emile Poirier (No. 22, Calgary Flames) of the Gatineau Olympiques.

In addition, five players eligible for the 2014 NHL Draft were named to the roster. Among them is Sherbrooke Phoenix forward Daniel Audette, who is tied for sixth in the QMJHL with 24 points in 18 games. The 5-foot-8, 177-pound left wing got a "B" rating from NHL Central Scouting in its preliminary players to watch list for players in the QMJHL.

Gatineau Olympiques coach Benoit Groulx, who will be an assistant coach on Canada's WJC staff, will coach Team QMJHL in both games. Halifax Mooseheads coach Dominick Ducharme will be his assistant.



Goaltenders: Sebastien Auger, Saint John (2014 draft eligible); Zachary Fucale, Halifax (Montreal)

Defensemen: Dillon Fournier, Rouyn-Noranda (Chicago); Ryan Graves, Charlottetown (N.Y. Rangers); Justin Hache, Cape Breton (Phoenix); Samuel Morin, Rimouski (Philadelphia); Alexis Vanier, Baie-Comeau (2014 draft eligible); Daniel Walcott, Blainville-Boisbriand (2014 draft eligible); MacKenzie Weegar, Halifax (Florida)

Forwards: Daniel Audette, Sherbrooke (2014 draft eligible); William Carrier, Cape Breton (St. Louis); Christopher Clapperton, Blainville-Boisbriand (Florida); Laurent Dauphin, Chicoutimi (Phoenix); Anthony De Luca, Rimouski (2014 draft eligible); Jonathan Drouin, Halifax (Tampa Bay); Anthony Duclair, Quebec (N.Y. Rangers); Frederik Gauthier, Rimouski (Toronto); Felix Girard, Baie-Comeau (Nashville); Jeremy Gregoire, Baie-Comeau (Montreal); Charles Hudon, Chicoutimi (Montreal); Anthony Mantha, Val-d'Or (Detroit); Emile Poirier, Gatineau (Calgary); Marco Roy, Blainville-Boisbriand (Edmonton)

View More