Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

Drew Doughty wins Norris Trophy

Kings defenseman honored as NHL's best after coming close twice @NHLdotcom

Doughty wins Norris Trophy

Drew Doughty is presented the Norris Trophy

Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings is awarded the Norris Trophy as the NHL's best defenseman at the 2016 NHL Awards

  • 00:57 •

Los Angeles Kings defenseman Drew Doughty won his first Norris Trophy as the League's best defenseman at the 2016 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Wednesday.

Doughty, who finished second in voting last season and third in 2009-10, led the League with a 58.89 shot attempts percentage at 5-on-5 and ranked third in average ice time (28:01) for the Kings, who finished in the top five in goals-against for the third straight season. Los Angeles also took 537 more shots than it allowed with Doughty on the ice.

Doughty had 51 points (14 goals, 37 assists) and an NHL career-high plus-24 rating.

Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators and Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks were the other finalists.

Video: Drew Doughty reacts to winning Norris trophy

2015-2016 Norris Trophy Voting // Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

1.   Drew Doughty, LAK   1254   (93-37-10-4-3)

2.   Erik Karlsson, OTT   1020   (46-54-27-14-5)

3.   Brent Burns, SJS   619   (3-26-54-43-8)

4.   Kris Letang, PIT   587   (8-24-40-40-19)

5.   Roman Josi, NSH       120   (0-1-6-17-32)

6.   John Klingberg, DAL   63   (0-2-2-6-21)

7.   Victor Hedman, TBL   62   (0-2-3-6-15)

8.   Ryan Suter, MIN       53   (0-1-3-7-10)

9.   Oliver Ekman-Larsson, ARI30   (0-0-2-2-14)

10.   Shea Weber, NSH       27   (0-1-1-4-3)

11.   Duncan Keith, CHI   21   (0-1-1-1-6)

View More