Skip to main content

Detroit Teammates Lidstrom, Zetterberg lead western conference in XM / NHL All-Star fan balloting, presented by 2K Sports @NHLdotcom
NEW YORK Detroit Red Wings teammates Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg are the top vote-getters in the West in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports.  Red Wings captain Lidstrom leads the Western Conference with 158,349 votes while assistant captain Zetterberg is second with 115,543.  In third for the second straight week is Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf with 111,940 votes. More than 4.17 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).   Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Leading all vote-getters among defensemen are Lidstrom and Phaneuf.  The front-runners among forwards in votes are Zetterberg, Jarome Iginla (81,739) of the Calgary Flames and Pavel Datsyuk (79,590) of the Red Wings.  Netminder Pascal Leclaire of the Columbus Blue Jackets is the top goaltender in votes with 76,665.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.  

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage.  Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game as guests of XM.  The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players.  Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting.  To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe.  NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and 

NHL is a registered trademark and NHL SuperSkills, NHL Radio and the NHL All Star logo are trademarks of the National Hockey League.  All Rights Reserved.

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference

(as of 11/26/07)

Player                                     NHL Club              Votes
Henrik Zetterberg Detroit 115,453
Jarome Iginla Calgary 81,739
Pavel Datsyuk Detroit 79,590
Joe Sakic Colorado 65,511
Mike Cammalleri Los Angeles 61,880
Joe Thornton San Jose 53,509
Paul Stastny Colorado 48,517
Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose 46,218
Rick Nash Columbus 43,477
Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim 42,023
Marian Gaborik Minnesota 40,725
Jason Arnott Nashville 37,779
Mike Modano Dallas 30,895
Anze Kopitar Los Angeles 26,979
Paul Kariya Saint Louis 26,108
Shane Doan Phoenix 21,970
Ryan Smyth Colorado 18,661
Ales Hemsky Edmonton 17,220
Martin Havlat Chicago 14,859
Markus Naslund Vancouver 14,685
Milan Hejduk Colorado 14,617
Henrik Sedin Vancouver 13,185
Andy McDonald Anaheim 12,305
Daniel Sedin Vancouver 12,124
Patrick Marleau San Jose 11,818
Brian Rolston Minnesota 10,612
Daymond Langkow Calgary 10,254
Keith Tkachuk Saint Louis 10,154
*Patrick Kane Chicago 7,647
Brenden Morrow Dallas 6,819
David Legwand Nashville 4,035

Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit 158,349
Dion Phaneuf Calgary 111,940
Chris Pronger Anaheim 73,059
Rob Blake Los Angeles 57,805
Francois Beauchemin Anaheim 52,880
Brian Rafalski Detroit 42,097
Scott Hannan Colorado 33,676
Sheldon Souray Edmonton 32,407
Sergei Zubov Dallas 30,132
Ed Jovanovski Phoenix 28,303
Mattias Ohlund Vancouver 25,403
Lubomir Visnovsky Los Angeles 22,003
Robyn Regehr Calgary 13,217

Pascal Leclaire Columbus 76,665
Roberto Luongo Vancouver 72,170
Dominik Hasek Detroit 37,717
Jean-Sebastien Giguere Anaheim 36,953
Niklas Backstrom Minnesota 33,567
Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary 30,859
Evgeni Nabokov San Jose 20,708
Nikolai Khabibulin Chicago 16,514
Marty Turco Dallas 14,810

*write-in candidate

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.