Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: DET @ FLA - 7:15 of the Second Period

Original call is overturned - no goal Florida Panthers @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: DET vs. FLA

Situation Room: Huberdeau's goal overturned on review

Jonathan Huberdeau's goal is overturned following the Red Wing's coach's challenge for goalie interference on Jimmy Howard in the 2nd period

  • 04:24 •

At 7:15 of the second period in the Red Wings/Panthers game, Detroit requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Aleksander Barkov interfered with Detroit's Jimmy Howard before Jonathan Huberdeau's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Barkov interfered with Howard before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Florida Panthers.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Detroit Red Wings retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.