Skip to main content

Detroit dominates Western Conference in XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, presented by 2K Sports @NHLdotcom
NEW YORK – The top-ranked Detroit Red Wings continue to dominate the Western Conference in XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports.  Defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom leads all players in the West in votes with 354,186, while teammates Henrik Zetterberg and Pavel Datsyuk are the top forwards with 247,118 and 214,299 votes, respectively.  More than 9.2 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).   Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Lidstrom and Dion Phaneuf (235,008) of the Calgary Flames are the top two defensemen in votes in the West. Zetterberg, Datsyuk and Calgary Flames captain Jarome Iginla (174,613) lead all forwards in votes. Roberto Luongo (185,990) of the Vancouver Canucks is the top goaltender.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.  

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage.  Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game as guests of XM.  The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players.  Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting.  To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe.  NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and 

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference

(as of 12/17/07)
Player                                     NHL Club              Votes
Henrik Zetterberg Detroit 247,118
Pavel Datsyuk Detroit 214,299
Jarome Iginla Calgary 174,613
Joe Sakic Colorado 131,437
Mike Cammalleri Los Angeles 128,898
Joe Thornton San Jose 111,793
Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose 107,154
Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim 99,509
Rick Nash Columbus 95,265
Marian Gaborik Minnesota 93,467
Jason Arnott Nashville 93,254
Paul Stastny Colorado 90,421
Mike Modano Dallas 71,617
Paul Kariya St. Louis 57,830
Shane Doan Phoenix 54,471
Anze Kopitar Los Angeles 51,641
Markus Naslund Vancouver 41,038
Ryan Smyth Colorado 37,773
Ales Hemsky Edmonton 36,633
Henrik Sedin Vancouver 35,303
Martin Havlat Chicago 34,588
Daniel Sedin Vancouver 34,076
Milan Hejduk Colorado 30,346
Andy McDonald Anaheim 26,489
Patrick Marleau San Jose 24,117
Keith Tkachuk St. Louis 23,900
Brian Rolston Minnesota 20,612
Daymond Langkow Calgary 19,684
Brenden Morrow Dallas 16,416
*Patrick Kane Chicago 15,228
David Legwand Nashville 10,419
Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit 354,186
Dion Phaneuf Calgary 235,008
Chris Pronger Anaheim 155,039
Rob Blake Los Angeles 132,233
Francois Beauchemin Anaheim 118,512
Brian Rafalski Detroit 101,544
Scott Hannan Colorado 72,908
Sergei Zubov Dallas 70,839
Sheldon Souray Edmonton 70,441
Ed Jovanovski Phoenix 67,167
Mattias Ohlund Vancouver 65,209
Lubomir Visnovsky Los Angeles 41,915
Robyn Regehr Calgary 27,433

Roberto Luongo Vancouver 185,990
Pascal Leclaire Columbus 150,823
Dominik Hasek Detroit 87,002
Jean-Sebastien Giguere Anaheim 78,857
Niklas Backstrom Minnesota 62,970
Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary 62,275
Evgeni Nabokov San Jose 41,498
Nikolai Khabibulin Chicago 39,069
Marty Turco Dallas 33,906

*write-in candidate

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.