Skip to main content

Davidson named HHOF committee chairman @NHLdotcom

Columbus Blue Jackets president John Davidson was named Wednesday as the new Chairman of the Selection Committee by the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Davidson, who will succeed Jim Gregory, starts in his new role April 1. Three new members of the selection committee were also announced. Philadelphia Flyers senior vice president Bob Clarke, Los Angeles Kings president Luc Robitaille and Nashville Predators general manager David Poile will join the committee, replacing Gregory, Pat Quinn (who stepped down to become Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame) and Serge Savard.

"John has been a dedicated member of the selection committee since 1999 and the board’s appointment to the chairman’s role recognizes his expertise and long-time contribution to the game as a player, media representative and hockey executive along with the fact that he is still very active in the game," Quinn said in a release. "I am also very pleased to welcome Bob, David and Luc, all three accomplished and knowledgeable hockey people, with the utmost confidence that the selection committee will continue its integral work honoring excellence in the game of hockey."

The committee will meet June 23 and June 24 and announce the Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2014 on June 24. The 2014 induction ceremony will be Nov. 10.

Gregory will continue to work with the committee in a non-voting capacity as Chairman Emeritus. The Hall of Fame also announced NHL Senior Executive Vice President of Hockey Operations Colin Campbell and Igor Larionov have been re-appointed to the selection committee through March 31, 2017.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.