Skip to main content

Datsyuk looking to repeat as Selke winner @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK (AP) - Pavel Datsyuk is going for a rare repeat.

The Detroit Red Wings star joined fellow centers Mike Richards of Philadelphia and Vancouver's Ryan Kesler on Tuesday as finalists for the Selke Trophy, given to the NHL's top defensive forward.

Datsyuk was last year's winner, when he also captured the Lady Byng Trophy (gentlemanly play and skill) for the third straight season. If he completes the double honor, Datsyuk would be the first to claim both awards in consecutive years. Ron Francis is the only other player to win both in the same season, in 1995 with Pittsburgh.

Datsyuk was second in the league with 89 takeaways and third with a plus-34 rating. Richards was a plus-22 and led the NHL with seven short-handed goals. Kesler was tops on the Canucks with 74 takeaways.

The winner will be announced June 18 in Las Vegas.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.