Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: DAL @ WPG - 15:40 of Second Period

Original call is overturned - no goal Winnipeg Jets

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: DAL vs. WPG

Situation Room: Tanev's goal overturned

After the video review, there was goalie interference and Brandon Tanev's goal was overturned in the 2nd period

  • 03:23 •

At 15:40 of the second period in the Stars/Jets game, Dallas requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Mark Scheifele interfered with goaltender Ben Bishop prior to Brandon Tanev's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Scheifele interfered with Bishop before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Winnipeg Jets.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Dallas Stars retain their time-out.

View More