Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: DAL @ VGK - 11:13 of the First Period

Original call stands - good goal Dallas Stars @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: DAL vs. VGK

Situation Room: Hintz's goal stands after review

The Golden Knights challenge for goaltender interference after Roope Hintz's goal and, after video review, the call on the ice stands as a goal

  • 02:39 •

At 11:13 of the first period in the Stars/Golden Knights game, Vegas requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Dallas' Alexander Radulov interfered with Marc-Andre Fleury prior to Roope Hintz's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referee, the Situation Room confirmed that the position of Radulov did not by itself impact Fleury's ability to play his position in the crease and therefore no goaltender interference infractions occurred. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.7 which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because "in a rebound situation, or where a goalkeeper and attacking player(s) are simultaneously attempting to play a loose puck, whether inside or outside the crease, incidental contact will be permitted, and any goal that is scored as a result thereof will be allowed." 

Therefore, the original call stands - good goal Dallas Stars.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Vegas Golden Knights forfeit their time-out.

View More