Skip to main content

Crosby leads all Eastern Conference vote-getters in XM / NHL All-Star fan balloting, presented by 2K Sports @NHLdotcom
NEW YORK Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby has maintained his lead among all Eastern Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports.  For the second straight week, Crosby is the frontrunner in the Eastern Conference with 177,873 votes.  Montreal Canadiens defenseman Andrei Markov holds on for second in votes with 115,007, followed by Boston Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara with 84,111 votes. More than 4.17 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).   Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

The leading vote-getters by position are forwards Crosby, Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators (80,211) and Vincent Lecavalier (73,743) of the Tampa Bay Lightning; defensemen Markov and Chara; and Montreal Canadiens goaltender Cristobal Huet (64,351).

Updated balloting results for the Western Conference will be announced Wednesday.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.  

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage.  Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, courtesy of XM.  The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players.  Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting.  To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe.  NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and 
XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Eastern Conference
(as of 11/26/07)

Player                                    NHL Club               Votes
Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh 177,873
Daniel Alfredsson Ottawa 80,211
Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay 73,743
Daniel Briere Philadelphia 62,867
Alex Ovechkin Washington 55,692
Ilya Kovalchuk Atlanta 52,948
Dany Heatley Ottawa 47,957
Saku Koivu Montreal 46,554
Maxim Afinogenov Buffalo 33,080
Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh 32,688
Chris Drury NY Rangers 27,481
Jaromir Jagr NY Rangers 26,267
Mats Sundin Toronto 25,683
Jason Blake Toronto 24,333
*Alex Kovalev Montreal 23,922
Simon Gagne Philadelphia 22,946
Jason Spezza Ottawa 21,748
*Mike Richards Philadelphia 19,783
Thomas Vanek Buffalo 17,101
Marian Hossa Atlanta 16,854
Patrik Elias New Jersey 15,519
Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay 15,080
Eric Staal Carolina 14,200
Brendan Shanahan NY Rangers 11,873
Bill Guerin NY Islanders 9,460
Vyacheslav Kozlov Atlanta 9,294
Olli Jokinen Florida 8,785
Justin Williams Carolina 7,950
Marc Savard Boston 7,558
Scott Gomez NY Rangers 7,336
Brian Gionta New Jersey 5,406
Brad Richards Tampa Bay 4,561

Andrei Markov Montreal 115,007
Zdeno Chara Boston 84,111
Tomas Kaberle Toronto 66,018
Brian Campbell Buffalo 63,031
Kimmo Timonen Philadelphia 55,108
Wade Redden Ottawa 53,539
Ryan Whitney Pittsburgh 48,686
Jay Bouwmeester Florida 44,684
Chris Phillips Ottawa 38,719
Bryan McCabe Toronto 35,499
Dan Boyle  Tampa Bay 33,966
Henrik Tallinder Buffalo 24,322

Cristobal Huet Montreal 64,351
Henrik Lundqvist NY Rangers 57,715
Martin Brodeur New Jersey 57,415
Martin Biron Philadelphia 49,193
Ryan Miller Buffalo 25,008
Ray Emery Ottawa 19,854
Rick DiPietro NY Islanders 19,367
Cam Ward Carolina 17,657
Olaf Kolzig Washington 10,506
Tomas Vokoun Florida 10,232
*write-in candidate

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.