Skip to main content


Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ARI @ SJS - 1:00 of First Period

Original call is overturned - no goal Sharks @NHL

Situation Room: ARI vs. SJS

Situation Room: Marleau's goal is overturned

The Coyotes challenge that the Sharsk are offside on Patick Marleau's goal, and after review, the call is overturned and the goal is disallowed

  • 02:09 •

At 1:00 of the first period in the Coyotes/Sharks game, Arizona requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether San Jose was off-side prior to Patrick Marleau's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that San Jose's Brenden Dillon was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal San Jose Sharks. 

The clock is re-set to show 19:03 (0:57 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Arizona Coyotes retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.