Skip to main content


Countdown to the NHL Awards begins

by Shawn P. Roarke /
LAS VEGAS -- The countdown to the 2011 NHL Awards is just more than three hours. As you figure out the snacks and drinks for NHL Network's live broadcast of the Awards red carpet (5 to 7 p.m. ET) and the Awards telecast (7 to 9 p.m. ET, Versus, CBC), here is a look at the order for trophy winners and the celebs who will be presenting the award. The order offers some drama right away as Kevin Smith and Cobie Smulders hand off the Norris winner for best defenseman, which figures to be a tight race among perennial winner Nick Lidstrom, 2011 Stanley Cup champion captain Zdeno Chara and young star and already stalwart status, Shea Weber.

The night will cap with a tight call as well, when the Hart MVP winner is announced by Jennifer Beals and Jason Reitman among Corey Perry, Daniel Sedin and Martin St. Louis. Here's the list, with a cheat-sheet line with the official category description for the casual fan.

James Norris Memorial Trophy (presented by Kevin Smith & Cobie Smulders)
Nominees: Zdeno Chara, Nicklas Lidstrom, Shea Weber
Category: Outstanding All-Round Defenseman

Art Ross Trophy (presented to Daniel Sedin by Jay Mohr)
Category: Leading Scorer

Frank J. Selke Trophy (presented by Criss Angel)
Nominees: Pavel Datsyuk, Ryan Kesler, Jonathan Toews
Category: Forward Who Excels in Defensive Play

Jack Adams Award (presented by Donny Osmond)
Nominees: Dan Bylsma, Barry Trotz, Alain Vigneault
Category: Outstanding Coach

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Presented by Bridgestone (presented by Mark Messier)
Nominees: Zdeno Chara, Shane Doan, Nicklas Lidstrom
Category: Superior Leader in Hockey, Contributing Member of Society

Calder Memorial Trophy (presented by George Stroumboulopoulos & Jeremy Roenick)
Nominees: Logan Couture, Michael Grabner, Jeff Skinner
Category: Outstanding Rookie

William M. Jennings Trophy (presented to Cory Schneider & Roberto Luongo by Jay Mohr)
Category: Goaltenders on Club with Fewest Goals Against

NHL General Manager of the Year Award (presented by Craig Patrick)
Nominees: Mike Gillis, David Poile, Steve Yzerman

Maurice ‘Rocket’ Richard Trophy (presented to Corey Perry by Jay Mohr)
Category: Regular-Season Goal Scoring Leader

Ted Lindsay Award (presented by Ted Lindsay)
Nominees: Corey Perry, Daniel Sedin, Steven Stamkos
Category: Most Outstanding Player Selected by the National Hockey League Players' Association

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (presented by Luc Robitaille & David Henrie)
Nominees: Ray Emery, Daymond Langkow, Ian Laperriere
Category: Perseverance Sportsmanship and Dedication to Hockey

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (presented by Jerry Bruckheimer)
Category: Leadership Qualities On and Off the Ice

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (presented by Camille Grammer & Adrienne Maloof)
Nominees: Loui Eriksson, Nicklas Lidstrom, Martin St. Louis
Category: Sportsmanship and Gentlemanly Conduct

NHL Foundation Player Award (presented by Michelle Beisner & Commissioner Gary Bettman)
Nominees: Dustin Brown, Mike Green, Daniel & Henrik Sedin
Category: Dedication to Charities

Vezina Trophy (presented by Jon Hamm)
Nominees: Roberto Luongo, Pekka Rinne, Tim Thomas
Category: Outstanding Goaltender

Hart Memorial Trophy (presented by Jennifer Beals & Jason Reitman)

Nominees: Corey Perry, Daniel Sedin, Martin St. Louis
Category: Most Valuable Player to His Team
View More