Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: COL @ OTT - 4:28 of the Second Period

Original call overturned -- no goal Ottawa @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: COL vs. OTT

Situation Room: Wideman's goal is negated

Chris Wideman scores from the point, but the Avalanche challenge for goaltender interference, and, after review, the call is reversed, no goal

  • 02:20 •

At 4:28 of the second period in the Avalanche/Senators game, Colorado requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether an Ottawa player interfered with Colorado goaltender Jonathan Bernier prior to Chris Wideman's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Ottawa's Tom Pyatt interfered with Bernier before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4." 

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Ottawa Senators

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Colorado Avalanche retain their time-out

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.