Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ANA @ STL - 11:59 of First Period

Original call is overturned, good goal Anaheim @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: ANA vs. STL

Situation Room: Rakell awarded goal after review

Video review determines that there was no goaltender interference on the play and Rickard Rakell is credited with a goal in the 1st period

  • 04:35 •

At 11:59 of the first period in the Ducks/Blues game, Anaheim requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of St. Louis' Jori Lehtera caused Anaheim's Corey Perry to contact goaltender Jake Allen before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, "that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call is overturned - good goal Anaheim Ducks.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Ducks retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.