Skip to main content

Headlines

Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: DAL @ COL - 17:36 of the Second Period

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: DAL vs. COL

Situation Room: Zach Redmond's goal overturned

2/4/16: The Stars challenge Zach Redmond's goal at 17:36 of the 2nd period, and the call is overturned due to goaltender interfernce

  • 02:21 •

At 17:36 of the second period in the Stars/Avalanche game, the Dallas requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Andreas Martinsen interfered with goaltender Antti Niemi before the puck entered the net.

The Referee determined that Martinsen interfered with Niemi before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Colorado Avalanche.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Dallas Stars retain their time-out.

---

Coach's Challenge
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios:

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team.

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper"

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play.

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play.

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out.

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

 

View More