Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: WPG @ DAL - 4:36 of Second Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Winnipeg @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: WPG vs. DAL

Situation Room: Scheifele's goal overturned

Mark Scheifele scores in the 2nd period, but after the Stars challenge, it is determined the play was offside and the goal does not count

  • 03:39 •

At 4:36 of the second period in the Jets/Stars game, Dallas requested a Coach's Challenge to determine whether Winnipeg was off-side prior to Mark Scheifele's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Winnipeg's Blake Wheeler was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Toronto Video Room, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed." 

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Winnipeg Jets.

The clock is re-set to show 15:27 (4:33 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Dallas Stars retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.