Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: WSH @ PIT - 1:05 of the Second Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Pittsburgh @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: WSH vs. PIT

Situation Room: Kunitz's goal overturned on challenge

The initial review confirms a good goal for Chris Kunitz, but the Capitals challenge for goaltender interference, and the call is reversed

  • 01:24 •

At 1:05 of the second period in the Capitals/Penguins game, Washington requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Pittsburgh's Chris Kunitz interfered with Washington goaltender Braden Holtby prior to his goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Kunitz interfered with Holtby before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Pittsburgh Penguins.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Washington Capitals retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.