Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NYR @ NYI - 3:46 of Third Period

Original call stands, good goal New York Rangers @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: NYR vs. NYI

Situation Room: Vesey's PPG stands following review

The Islanders challenge that Thomas Greiss was interfered with prior to Jimmy Vesey's tally, but after review, the goal is confirmed

  • 02:37 •

At 3:46 of the third period in the Rangers/Islanders game, the New York Islanders requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Rick Nash interfered with goaltender Thomas Greiss prior to the Rangers' goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed that the actions of an Islanders defender caused Nash to contact Greiss before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal should be allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal New York Rangers.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the New York Islanders forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.