Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: MIN @ COL - 18:46 of Third Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Colorado @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: MIN vs. COL

Situation Room: Andrighetto's PPG overturned

Sven Andrighetto is initially awarded a power-play goal after review, but the Wild challenge for goaltender interference, and it's overturned

  • 01:44 •

At 18:46 of the third period in the Wild/Avalanche game, Minnesota requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Colorado interfered with Minnesota goaltender Devan Dubnyk prior to Sven Andrighetto's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Nathan MacKinnon's actions caused Minnesota's Jonas Brodin to contact Dubnyk before the puck crossed the goal line, preventing him from doing his job in the crease. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 78.7 which states in part: "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee ... determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Colorado Avalanche.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Minnesota Wild retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.