Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: DET @ ANA - 1:23 of Second Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Detroit @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: DET vs. ANA

Situation Room: Smith's goal overturned after review

The Ducks challenge goaltender interference on Brendan Smith's 2nd period goal, and after a review, the call is overturned

  • 03:06 •

At 1:23 of the second period in the Red Wings/Ducks game, Anaheim requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Brendan Smith interfered with goaltender John Gibson before the puck crossed the goal line.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Smith interfered with Gibson before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Detroit Red Wings.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Anaheim Ducks retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.