Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: COL @ CBJ - 16:23 of Second Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Columbus

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: COL vs. CBJ

Situation Room: Jenner's goal is overturned

Boone Jenner's goal is overturned after the referees determine there was goalie interference

  • 01:20 •

At 16:23 of the second period in the Avalanche/Blue Jackets game, Colorado requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Columbus player interfered with Colorado goaltender Semyon Varlamov prior to Boone Jenner's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Columbus' Scott Hartnell interfered with Varlamov before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Columbus Blue Jackets.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Colorado Avalanche retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.