Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CHI @ WSH - 6:32 of Second Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Chicago @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: CHI vs. WSH

Situation Room: Hinostroza's goal overturned

Vinnie Hinostroza's goal is overturned after a coach's challenge, as Marian Hossa was ruled to have interfered with Braden Holtby on the play

  • 03:50 •

At 6:32 of the second period in the Blackhawks/Capitals game, Washington requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Chicago player interfered with Washington goaltender Braden Holtby prior to Vinnie Hinostroza's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Chicago's Marian Hossa interfered with Holtby before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4 ."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Chicago Blackhawks.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Washington Capitals retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.