Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CHI @ DET - 19:52 of First Period

Original call stands, good goal Detroit @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: CHI vs. DET

Situation Room: Athanasiou's goal stands after review

The Blackhawks challenge for offside on Andreas Athanasiou's goal, but review confirms the Red Wings entered the zone legally for a good goal

  • 01:58 •

At 19:52 of the first period in the Blackhawks/Red Wings game, Chicago requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Detroit was off-side prior to Andreas Athanasiou's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff confirmed that Detroit's Tomas Tatar had possession and control of the puck as he entered the attacking zone prior to the goal. According to Rule 83.1, "a player actually controlling the puck who shall cross the line ahead of the puck shall not be considered 'off-side,' provided he had possession and control of the puck prior to his skates crossing the blue line."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Detroit Red Wings.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Chicago Blackhawks forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.