Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ARI @ VAN - 11:56 of First Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Vancouver @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: ARI vs. VAN

Situation Room: Chaput's goal overturned in 1st

The Coyotes challenge goaltender interference on Michael Chaput's goal, and after review, the call is overturned and the game remains scoreless

  • 03:07 •

At 11:56 of the first period in the Coyotes/Canucks game, Arizona requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Vancouver's Michael Chaput interfered with Arizona goaltender Louis Domingue prior to his goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the referee, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Chaput interfered with Domingue before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Vancouver Canucks.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Arizona Coyotes retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.