Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NYR @ CAR - 8:31 of First Period

Original call stands, good goal New York

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NYR vs. CAR

Situation Room: Zuccarello's goal stands after review

The referees review if the puck crossed the goal line and the Hurricanes challenge goalie interference, and after the review, the call stands

  • 01:53 •

At 8:31 of the first period in the Rangers/Hurricanes game, Carolina requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a New York player interfered with Carolina goaltender Cam Ward prior to Mats Zuccarello's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of Carolina's Ron Hainsey caused New York's Pavel Buchnevich to contact Ward before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal New York Rangers.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Carolina Hurricanes forfeit their time-out. 

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out. 

View More