Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: PIT @ PHI - 13:16 of 2nd Period

Original call stands, good goal Philadelphia Flyers

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: PIT vs. PHI

Situation Room: Giroux's goal stands after review

Claude Giroux scores a goal in the 2nd period and the Penguins challenge that the play was offside but after review, the goal stands

  • 06:04 •

At 13:16 of the second period in the Penguins/Flyers game, Pittsburgh requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Philadelphia was off-side prior to Claude Giroux's goal. 

Review was not conclusive in determining whether Philadelphia was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "If a review is not conclusive and/or there is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the On-Ice Official(s) will be instructed to confirm their original call." 

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Philadelphia Flyers

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Pittsburgh Penguins forfeit their time-out. 

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

View More