Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ARI @ LAK - 19:27 of First Period

No goal Arizona Coyotes @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: ARI vs. LAK

Situation Room: Coyotes' goal overturned after review

Brendan Perlini's goal is overturned after video review determines that the Coyotes were offside prior to entering the zone

  • 04:02 •

At 19:27 of the first period in the Coyotes/Kings game, Los Angeles requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Arizona was off-side prior to Brendan Perlini's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Arizona's Anthony DeAngelo was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Arizona Coyotes.

The clock is re-set to show 40.1 seconds (19:19 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Los Angeles Kings retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.