Skip to main content

Headlines

Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CGY @ LA - 16:00 of 2nd Period

Original call stands, no goal Flames

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: CGY @ LAK

Situation Room: Officials uphold call of no goal

3/31/16: Calgary's challenge is unsuccessful as the officials uphold the call that Jonathan Quick was interfered with before the puck went in

  • 03:48 •

At 16:00 of the second period in the Flames/Kings game, Calgary requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed the "no goal" call because the positioning of Calgary's Joe Colborne in the crease prevented Los Angeles goaltender Jonathan Quick from doing his job. This decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.3, which states, "if an attacking player establishes a significant position within the goal crease, so as to obstruct the goalkeeper's vision and impair his ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed. For this purpose, a player 'establishes a significant position within the crease' when, in the Referee's judgment, his body, or a substantial portion thereof, is within the goal crease for more than an instantaneous period of time."

Therefore the original call stands - no goal Calgary Flames.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Flames forfeit their time-out.

---

Coach's Challenge
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios:

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team.

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper"

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play.

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play.

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out.

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.