Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: BOS @ TBL - 10:47 of First Period

Original call stands, good goal Boston

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: BOS vs. TBL

Situation Room: Spooner's PPG stands after review

Tampa Bay challenged Ryan Spooner's power play goal, but the call stands after a video review of the Bruins' zone entry is inconclusive

  • 04:57 •

At 10:47 of the first period in the Bruins/Lightning game, Tampa Bay requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Boston was off-side prior to Ryan Spooner's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, NHL Hockey Operations staff were inconclusive in determining whether the Bruins were off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "if a review is not conclusive and/or there is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the On-Ice Official(s) will be instructed to confirm their original call."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Boston Bruins.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Tampa Bay Lightning forfeit their time-out.

 

View More