Skip to main content


Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: STL @ DAL - 6:36 of Third Period

Original call stands, good goal Dallas @NHL

Situation Room: STL vs. DAL

Situation Room: Spezza's goal stands after review

The Blues challenge Jason Spezza's goal due to goaltender interference, but after review, the call is confirmed and the goal stands

  • 02:11 •

At 6:36 of the third period in the Blues/Stars game, St. Louis requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Dallas player interfered with goaltender Jake Allen before the puck crossed the goal line.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed that the actions of a defending player caused Dallas forward Jason Spezza to contact goaltender Jake Allen before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should be allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Dallas Stars.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the St. Louis Blues forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.