Skip to main content

Headlines

Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CBJ @ PHI - 14:24 of 1st Period

Good goal Philadelphia Flyers

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: CBJ vs. PHI

Situation Room: Del Zotto awarded goal after review

The Flyers challenge that there was no goalie interference and, after a review, it is determined that Micahel Del Zotto scored in legal fashion

  • 01:14 •

At 14:24 of the first period in the Blue Jackets/Flyers game, Philadelphia requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Philadelphia's Sean Couturier did not interfere with Columbus goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky before the puck crossed the goal line.

Therefore the original call is overturned - good goal Philadelphia Flyers. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Flyers retain their time-out

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

View More