Skip to main content


Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: COL @ PIT - 7:07 of the 3rd Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Penguins @NHL

Situation Room: COL vs. PIT

Situation Room: Malkin's goal overturned in 3rd

Evgeni Malkin initially buries a go-ahead goal, but the Avalanche challenge the call and the ruling gets overturned because of interference

  • 04:28 •

At 7:07 of the third period in the Avalanche/Penguins game, Colorado requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Evgeni Malkin interfered with goaltender Calvin Pickard prior to his goal.

The Referee determined that Malkin interfered with Pickard before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Pittsburgh Penguins.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Colorado Avalanche retain their time-out.

View More