Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: SJS @ TBL - 7:18 of First Period

Review overturns "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: SJS vs. TBL

Situation Room: Marleau awarded goal after challenge

Following an official review that confirms no goaltender interference, the Sharks challenge the call and Patrick Marleau is awarded a goal

  • 01:30 •

At 7:18 of the first period in the Sharks/Lightning game, San Jose requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the referee, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Tampa Bay's Brayden Point made contact with goaltender Ben Bishop, resulting in the puck crossing the goal line.

Therefore the original call is overturned - good goal San Jose Sharks.

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Sharks retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.