Skip to Main Content

Chiefs complete sweep of Hurricanes and take Western Hockey League title @NHLdotcom

LETHBRIDGE, Alta. - The Spokane Chiefs will represent the Western Hockey League at the Memorial Cup after sweeping the Lethbridge Hurricanes in the WHL final.

The Chiefs beat the Hurricanes 4-1 in Game 4 on Wednesday to advance to the Canadian Hockey League championship, which begins later this month in Kitchener, Ont.

The Chiefs, who won the Cup in 1991, will start their quest for a second championship May 17 against either Kitchener or Belleville.

Mitch Wahl, Tyler Johnson, David Rutherford and Ondrej Roman scored for Spokane, while Nicholas Hotson had the only goal for the Hurricanes.

Dustin Tokarski stopped 17 shots for the win. Juha Metsola made 21 saves in a losing cause.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.