Skip to Main Content

CBJ @ CHI - 0:41 of the Third Period @NHLdotcom

At 0:41 of the third period in the Columbus Blue Jackets/Chicago Blackhawks game, the referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the Columbus goal line. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Chicago.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.