Skip to main content

CBJ @ CAR - 9:44 of the First Period @NHL

At 9:44 of the first period in the Columbus Blue Jackets/Carolina Hurricanes game, a "good goal" call for Carolina was signalled by the referee in the attacking zone. After the four on-ice officials huddled it was determined that Hurricanes forward Alexander Semin pushed Blue Jackets goaltender Curtis McElhinney into the net with the puck. According to Rule 78.5 (ix) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when a goaltender has been pushed into the net together with the puck after making a save." This is not a reviewable play therefore the final on-ice decision by the referees stands - no penalty and no goal Carolina.

View More