Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: CAR @ SJS - 12:17 of the First Period

Original call is upheld - No goal San Jose

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: CAR @ SJS

Situation Room: no-goal call stands after review

Dylan Gambrell's deflection is ruled to be touched with a high stick and, after video review, the call on the ice of no goal stands

  • 02:39 •

Video Review: CAR @ SJS - 12:17 of the First Period

Type of Review: High-Sticking the Puck

Result: Original call is upheld - No goal San Jose

Explanation: Video review supported the Referee's call on the ice that Dylan Gambrell's stick was above the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Carolina net. According to Rule 80.3, "When an attacking player causes the puck to enter the opponent's goal by contacting the puck above the height of the crossbar, either directly or deflected off any player or official, the goal shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick."

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.