Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Rule Clarification: CAR @ NSH - 18:44 of the First Period

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

At 18:44 of the first period in the Predators/Hurricanes game, a double-minor penalty was assessed to Carolina's Andrei Svechnikov. After reviewing the play, the referees determined that it was the stick of Nashville's Mattias Ekholm - and not Svechnikov's - that originally struck Eeli Tolvanen. Rule 60.3 states that when a double-minor is called for high-sticking, the referee "shall have the option (but not the obligation) to review video of the play for the purpose of confirming (or not) their original call on the ice, and, in particular, whether the stick causing the apparent injury was actually the stick of the Player being penalized." The video review process cannot be used to assess any other penalties.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.