Skip to main content

Capitals are Southeast champs again @NHLdotcom
For the fourth year in a row, the Washington Capitals are the champions of the Southeast Division.

The Caps officially clinched the division late in the third period of their own game at Toronto on Tuesday night when second-place Tampa Bay lost 4-2 at Buffalo, eliminating the Lightning from the race. Washington went on to win the game 3-2 in a shootout putting them into first place in the Eastern Conference as well.

The Capitals rallied down the stretch in 2007-08 to win the division with 94 points. They won again in 2008-09 with 108 and finished first in the overall standings last season with 121 points.

Washington spent much of the season looking up at the Lightning in the division race, but a late-season surge carried them past the Lightning.
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.