Skip to main content

Canucks' Sedin wins first Hart Trophy as NHL MVP @NHLdotcom
Center Henrik Sedin has become the first player in the 40-year history of the Vancouver Canucks to win the Hart Trophy, awarded "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team" as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Sedin garnered 46 first-place votes among the 133 ballots cast and accumulated 894 points to edge the two-time defending Hart Trophy winner Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals, who was the top selection on 40 ballots and earned 834 points.

Sedin flourished in 2009-10 despite having to play 19 games without his twin brother and career-long linemate Daniel, who missed a large chunk of the season with a broken foot. With 112 points – 30 more than his previous career-high – Henrik became the first player in franchise history to win the Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring champion. Sedin easily led the League with 83 assists, 14 more than runner-up Joe Thornton of San Jose. Five of Sedin’s career-high 29 goals were game-winners. With a plus-35 rating, Henrik Sedin has been a plus player in every one of his nine NHL seasons with the exception of his minus-2 rookie year.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.