Skip to main content

Canucks capture 2010-11 Presidents' Trophy @NHLdotcom
NEW YORK -- The Vancouver Canucks have captured the 2010-11 Presidents' Trophy, awarded to the NHL club finishing the regular season with the League's best record. The Canucks (52-17-9, 113 points) clinched the trophy tonight following a 3-1 victory over the Los Angeles Kings.

The Canucks, celebrating their 40th anniversary season in 2010-11, have claimed the Presidents' Trophy for the first time. Tonight's milestone victory caps a regular season in which the club already has set franchise records for most points (113), most wins (52) and most road wins (26). Their 17-1-2 run in games from Nov. 24 through Jan. 8 marked the best 20-game stretch in franchise history.

The Canucks have scored the most goals in the NHL (253), allowed the fewest (177) and have recorded the top power-play and penalty-killing percentages (24.7% and 86.6%, respectively). No club in the League's 'expansion era' (since 1967-68) has finished first in each of these categories in a single season.

Displaying the depth required of a successful NHL club, Vancouver has overcome a rash of injuries to their blueline corps throughout the season. Defensemen Keith Ballard (17 games), Kevin Bieksa (16), Alexander Edler (29), Dan Hamhuis (15) and Sami Salo (55) all have missed significant time.

Among the Canucks' top individual performances:

* LW Daniel Sedin leads the NHL in scoring with 100 points (41 goals, 59 assists). Twin brother Henrik won the scoring race last year and ranks third this season (19-72--91), one point behind second-place Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning (30-62--92). Among the many famous brother combinations who have graced the NHL since its founding, none has captured scoring titles in back-to-back seasons nor finished 1-2 in League scoring in the same season. The last time brothers finished first and third in League scoring was 1942-43 (Doug and Max Bentley, Chicago Blackhawks).

* Center Ryan Kesler is tied for fourth place among NHL goal-scorers with 37, surpassing his single-season high of 26 set in 2008-09.

* Goaltender Roberto Luongo leads all goaltenders in wins (37) and ranks third in goals-against average (2.14) and save percentage (.927). Rookie Cory Schneider has excelled in a backup role (15-3-2, 2.16, .930).

As Presidents' Trophy winners, the Canucks are guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout their participation in the Stanley Cup Playoffs.
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.